Tachometer install - Page 2 - Nissan Versa Forums
Interior Forum Discuss about seats, steering wheel, fabric and gauges

User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #11 of 25 Old 11-11-2012, 11:07 PM
Level II Member
 
stumbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Foothills of Alberta
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The American 'S' models don't get a tach. This is what we get in our Canadian 'S' models. I'm sure you could order this cluster from a Canadian dealer and install it into yours, though you'd have to put up with the metric speedo...


'07.5 Sierra Duramax - EFI Live tuned
515hp, 900+ ft/lbs and gets 11L/100kms hwy
'11 Maxima (wife's ride)
'12 Minima (Versa Sedan S)
'68 Chevelle 400 hp
'13 Jayco 33 BHTS
stumbler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 25 Old 07-13-2014, 02:36 AM
Level I Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Central CA (Visalia)
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so has ANYBODY installed a tach on a 2012+ sedan w/out a tach...??

come on now, i cant find info nowhere on this...

wiring diagram, install instructions or something...plz

thanks...
2ndGenVersa is offline  
post #13 of 25 Old 09-26-2014, 03:58 AM
Level I Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Central CA (Visalia)
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just need to know where to wire up the "green" wire...

whats the name of the correct wire(on the versa that is)
rpm signal wire??

that way i can look up on the wiring diagram...if i can find one that is...

thanks for any help...
2ndGenVersa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 25 Old 09-26-2014, 07:31 AM
Level IV Member
 
Grizzly_v2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bakersfield, ca
Posts: 257
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumbler View Post
The American 'S' models don't get a tach. This is what we get in our Canadian 'S' models. I'm sure you could order this cluster from a Canadian dealer and install it into yours, though you'd have to put up with the metric speedo...

my "S" model has that tach, tho it's a 5 speed.

_____________________________________________
I rather be driving on the freeway than be at work
_____________________________________________
2014 Nissan versa S sedan. 56xxx daily driven
_____________________________________________
the beard life is where its at
http://instagram.com/baconxbeard
just another bear, with nothing to wear.

Installed
MeganRacing coilovers
MeganRacing Axle back muffler.
Grizzly_v2 is offline  
post #15 of 25 Old 09-26-2014, 07:02 PM
Level III Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Maryland
Posts: 149
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 30 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's not a single tach wire, there is CAN communication from the ECM to the tach. So the signal is one of many sent over a single wire. I know that doesn't help you. You'll have to figure something out with some type of aftermarket pick-up device.
Peacock Power is offline  
post #16 of 25 Old 09-27-2014, 02:06 PM
Level I Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 24
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
antmanbee is offline  
post #17 of 25 Old 11-14-2014, 03:10 AM
Level I Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Central CA (Visalia)
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so is there no way to add a regular "needle" tach to the 2013 versa sedan...??

please tell me there is a way...
2ndGenVersa is offline  
post #18 of 25 Old 04-13-2015, 02:23 PM
Level II Member
 
OneNutShort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: VA
Posts: 72
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Garage
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grizzly_v2 View Post
my "S" model has that tach, tho it's a 5 speed.
Interesting. My 2011 S model has a tachometer. It's a 6 speed hatchback though. Maybe that's the difference?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20150413_104312_1428950435837.jpg
Views:	151
Size:	95.2 KB
ID:	10009  

2011 Hatch 6sp

JVC Head Unit
Tinted Windows
GoPro mount
Cheap Wheel Covers

Last edited by OneNutShort; 04-13-2015 at 06:40 PM.
OneNutShort is offline  
post #19 of 25 Old 03-22-2016, 06:12 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Red face 2012 Nissan Versa sedan tachometer install

I own a 1.6 S Versa Sedan 5sp manual transmition (base model) with no RPM in the instrument cluster, got on this forum looking for tips and I read lots of people like myself looking for answers, and now I have the answer. YES I did it. I found an instrument cluster of a 2014 Nissan Versa sedan on Ebay and installed it myself with a philip and a straight screw driver, plug in and play, just make sure you stick to a similar cluster to the one you have, I mean don't try to go fancy with a different model like the Note or the hatchback.
So the cluster I got looked like like mine except it has a tachometer that I wanted. have fun....
Nissan since 1994 is offline  
post #20 of 25 Old 03-22-2016, 06:41 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I did a instrument cluster swap from a 2014 Versa sedan into my 2012 Versa sedan and now I have a tachometer.
Nissan since 1994 is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome