Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I have a 2012 versa hatchback with the 1.8. Drove fine and when I parked it and came out next day, the car does not want to start. It cranks, just won’t turn over. I’ve read as much as I could on the subject and I get mixed opinions. Check engine light is on and reading cylinder 4 misfire and also a rich bank code, p0304 and p0172. I noticed in misfire videos that their cars are still running, just very poorly. When mine was running last, it didn’t run poorly or seem like it was misfiring. I had the car running at idle for an hour when check engine light came on. After no start happened next day, My first thought was check coil and plug on number 4 and if that looks fine then check fuel pressure. I’m not a mechanic by any means but I know a little bit. I’d rather not try to splice into fuel lines if not necessary, but if I don’t test fuel then I’m stumped as to where to start at next instead. Any opinions or help would be greatly appreciated!!!

·
Registered
1 Posts
I am in a very similar situation with my 2012 and 1.6. All of the sudden it just cranks and won’t start. Actually sputtered and died the first time but nothing since. The cheapie OBD reader says “no DTCs” so I checked fuel pressure. Disconnect fuel pump fuse and crank engine (1min?) to relieve pressure. Lift off rear seat cushion, pull off cover to get access to top of tank. Remove quick connect (use rags to catch fuel spillage+caution) and clamp a piece of 3/8 fuel line onto the nipple with a 100psi gauge on the other end. Reinstall fuse and crank, you should have around 50psi. Mine does have 50psi? so all I know now is check for spark and then start throwing parts at it.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·