Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
2016 Versa S manual trans with 5755 miles on it. Last night while driving up the highway coming home from Dallas I got into stop and go traffic due to an accident. I was in the traffic for about 15 minutes. I have a scan gauge that showed the engine temp rising while I was stuck in traffic. Temp outside was only 52 degrees. But my engine temp kept rising up to 198 then back down to 182. 182 to 186 is normal for my car. It has never risen above 186 even in the 105 degree Texas heat. Anyway when I got past the accident and was able to get back up to highway speeds the temp went back down to 182.
When I got home I opened the engine hood to make sure the cooling fan was running. This is when I could hear the engine knocking. It's not valve tapping. I have heard that before in other engines. This is an actual engine knock. If I had to guess I would say maybe near cylinder #3 . But I am not a mechanic. My car only has 5755 miles on it. I am not rough on it at all. I have done the oil changes as scheduled and use the recommended 5W30 oil the manual calls for. This has been a good car up until now. I am going to take the car to the dealer tomorrow and see what they say. I have read the forums and seen the reports of Versa engine failures. I always thought they were fake posts. But now I am wondering if there might be some truth to them. Any thoughts or ideas?

·
Registered
674 Posts