Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 20 of 79 Posts

·
Registered
259 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I hate car insurance :mad:

Last year our premiums went up so I was able to take off some coverage so I can afford the insurance. I was paying about $311/month.

Our province in Ontario made some changes to auto and home insurance which means I'm now paying $384/month!!!!!!! I've had my full license for 4 years and I've been driving for 6 years now. No tickets or accidents.

Just wanted to rant because this totally sucks

·
Registered
6,567 Posts
Ouch. That's really high. I just changed the insurance and car to my name a few weeks ago. I went with a different insurance company then my parents. I got it for $180.00 even, with extra coverage options. I did get a work discount but I still thought it was high. But I guess for just switching it to my name for the first time it's not too bad.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

·
Registered
446 Posts
Just today I got the Progressive Snapshot device thingy in an effort to reduce my insurance. (127/month for 0$ deductible) Here's hoping it benefits me and doesn't raise my rates!

·
Registered
639 Posts
I pay $230/month with Nationwide. That's mostly due to my driving record.

·
Registered
2,469 Posts
Ontario made some changes to auto and home insurance.
Sure does. Got shovelled to us saying "We've given you more options" but it just meant we can reduce bits of coverage and up the rates.:(
If I were in business, I would want it to succeed, and I would charge what the market can bear. But quarter after quarter of record profits?sigh. At least I'm old, and with house and two car collision coverage I am paying 'just' 230/mo.

·
Registered
2,364 Posts
I think part of the problem is government corporate taxes.

All the social services the government wants to handout to the public have to come from somewhere. Private sector.

Example cell phones services.

if the payment is 49.99, that 49.99 is profit for the private business