Nissan Versa Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just brought my first car ever so i am new to all this car talk.

I got a 2008 versa SL, for a good price and now i realized why. (private sale)
The transmission wasn't engaging occasionally and after reading all the extended warranty things on here thought i could get it replaced.

However, the dealer just told me that whoever had the car before has put the wrong transmission fluid in, its pink not green. Therefore the warranty is void, and thats what is causing the problem.

Ive been quoted by the dealer $4,300 +tax for a new tran or $3,300+tax for a used one.

My questions are:
A) Can you replace the CVT transmission with a non-CVT automatic? (they are less expensive)

B) Can you flush out the old fluid with new fluid to fix it?

C) Is it a job that I could potentially do myself?

d) Is $4,300/$3,300 the usual price or is it too much?

Thanks

·
Registered
407 Posts
Hi sorry to hear that. I too just got a used SL back in Feb, however my CVT is ok.

I will let the experts on this forum chime in, but I would think since you have no warranty then you might as well have a CVT fluid flush done by a Nissan Dealership (or other confident party) and see if that solves the problem you are having. It's not that straight forward to drain and flush the CVT so I would go to Nissan to have it done. They quoted me about $350-ish for this, since the Nissan green CVT fluid is like $30 per liter, and you need I think about 8 liters and change for the flush and refill.

That's a lot better than $3k+ for a new Tranny.

I am not sure if you can replace the CVT with a normal Versa 4-speed auto, but I would think so.

On price, that does seem high as a regular rebuilt auto tranny should be around $1500-$2000, plus install I think.

My two cents worth anyway. Hope it helps. Good luck fellow Canuck.

·
Registered
993 Posts