Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I searched the forum on this topic and didn't get much, so my apologies if this has been discussed before. When I bought my 2014 Versa Note the other day, the dealer (5 Star Nissan of Warner Robins, GA) told me that if I do my own oil changes I would void my warranty. I told him that was ridiculous and that I have been an aircraft mechanic for over 20 years, I'm well qualified to change oil. I also pointed out that some people are really picky about what oil goes into their engines (nothing but Royal Purple and K&N filters for my cars). He told me I could bring the oil with me to the stealership and they would use that oil. He said that all oil changes are entered into CarFax and must be done by an ASE certified mechanic.

This is all nonsense to me, I can't remember the last time I actually paid for an oil change. Were you all told the same thing when you bought your vehicles?

·
Registered
518 Posts
I think what you need to do is to keep proof (receipts) that you have done the oil changes at the factory recommended intervals.

My dealer did not say anything about requiring oil changes to be done by a dealer. I'd think the fast lube/oil change places would sue Nissan if that were true.

·
Registered
88 Posts
You should report them to the Nissan Corp. They need to be put in their place! Thats utter BS and so shady. I would also try to do your business elsewhere if possible.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I like doing my own oil changes but I don't want the hassle if I have an engine problem. Oil changes aren't too expensive just don't pay for anything thats not in your manual. Be sure to mark your filter to make sure they actually change it. In a way I can't blame them, some home mechanics have really screwed things up and they don't want to cover others mistakes.

·
Registered
1,246 Posts
Were you all told the same thing when you bought your vehicles?