Nissan Versa Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 11v-s mr18 and I usually pump 87 unleaded no problems. pupmped unleaded "PLUS" and car ran AMAZING just put premium and oh shoot now my car acts like its on 2cyl...not sure if sudden power loss (witch only starts after vehicle warms and is in 2k+ rpm.. It sounds like I yanked my muffler and rocking on a 2cyl witch makes me think either this is either a AIR,SPARK, OR BANG issue. I have 58k on motor im very very good to her and im a mechanic but the car shows zero codes, lights or anything...just a horsepower loss and a sound change (DEEP 2 stroke sound). drives and runs fine but no power and might be a sighn of some of these horrible mr18 failures.

HELP ME!!

NO VISUAL SMOKE OR ANYTHING AT ALL! JUST POWER LOSS AND SOUND

·
Registered
2,359 Posts
idk.....

does it sound like this camry?

Also,
did the problem start after you added the premium fuel? if that's the case maybe the fuel was bad. or maybe you put diesel :shrug:

·
Registered
690 Posts
I've used full tanks of 91 for the additional premixed additives in high octane and no problems. Pull the intake and check those plugs for fouling.

Reactions: tiida11Az

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
No it doesn't sound like that...im a mechanic and would recognize that. it just sounds like my intake and top end are muffled but EVERYTHING checks out..

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Yea I posted this in hopes of avoiding the teeth pulling process of simple plugs. BUT your right at this point I need to check the sparks and see what there telling me.
I have noticed it has gotten better..almost gone actually. my tank is almost empty and im hoping this was a case of shit fuel..
either way..This guy is buying new NKS's and intake gasket

·
Registered
690 Posts