Nissan Versa Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

Thanks in advance for your patience..... It is a little long story.....

I am a student with low income and without car-fixing experiences. Bought a second-hand nissan versa 2008 on 180000 kms from someone a month ago.
Regularly, I drive it from home to university - only couple of kms. Two weeks ago, I drove it for tens of kms including highway. Then, the engine light is on when driving.

The exact performance/problem is: after long runs >>>> yield when approach intersections >>>> push accelerator for speeding up - but the car moves very slowly even if I push accelerator to the end >>>> the problem disappears only if I turn the vehicle off and restart >>>> however, appear again after driving a while...

After that day, I drive it regularly at short distance. That problem did not happen. I am afraid of its re-happening. So use code machine to detect error code. The code is P0746 (P0746 Nissan Pressure Control Solenoid A Performance OBDII Engine Light Trouble Code | Engine-Codes.com), which has several possible causes
- Low transmission fluid level
- Dirty transmission fluid
- Faulty line pressure solenoid valve
- Line pressure solenoid valve harness is open or shorted
- Line pressure solenoid valve circuit poor electrical connection.

Then I take it to Nissan dealer. Dealer told me the cause is that incorrect transmission fluid is being used in the transmission system. The correct one should be NS-2 for CVT. The repair suggestion he gave me is to replace the whole transmission module - which would cost $4400. My car was bought at only $2700.

My questions are:
1) Is it possible that the aforementioned problem is caused by incorrect transmission fluid? High possibility?
2) Certainly, I would not replace the whole transmission module at the cost of $4400. Can I just flush the transmission and change fluid with correct one (NS-2)? Will the problem disappear?