Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all I am new to the forum. I have 2010 hatchback automatic. Couple of weeks ago the shifter got stuck in park and I have been manually depressing the shift lock. Any ideas on what the issue could be. I'm really hoping it's not the whole control. Thanks.

·
Registered
216 Posts
Hi Moynahan,

I am no expert in the 2010 but I wanted to ask for a little clarification that might help. What do you mean by "I have been manually depressing the shift lock" ? Can you describe more specifically? Are you saying the button doesn't work but you have somehow accessed the cable linkage for it and are pulling it with some pliars or something to be able to move the shift lever?

Sorry to ask obvious questions but are you pressing the brake pedal when you try to shift out of park? Most late-model vehicles require the brake pedal to be pressed in addition to the shift button on the shifter, in order to be shifted out of park. Not at all trying to insult your intelligence, just trying to make sure there is no misunderstanding of the operation of the shift lever. Hopefully someone with an automatic will chime in here, I'm just going off of my general knowledge and it seems to me that virtually every automatic vehicle I have stepped into newer than 1996 has required that dual brake+button press to shift from park, regardless of make or model. Maybe something is different about the 2010 versa so we'll see if anyone else drops in here with better information but I think it will definitely help in the meantime if you can give us some more details. Don't suppose you are handy with a camera and could upload a short video showing the problem?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3