Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Greetings all-

I'm an owner of a 2012 sedan, model S. Why Nissan didn't install a tachometer in a manual car is beyond me. I have dealt not having one for about a year, and now it's time to install one. Question for the gurus: Is my car already wired for a tach? If so, any ideas on wire color and location? I'm contemplating a cluster swap or a small Autometer on the steering column. Um, without a shift light. Because, well, that would be silly. Thanks in advance!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Thats a good question, i was gunna post it. But u beat me to it. I own a 5spd S model too, i've been wanting a tach ever since i got the car
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
9 Posts
i really dont care to have a tach but a light coming on to know when redline has been reached would be nice. I just got a 2012 versa S yesterday so i havent revved it up much. the owners manual has a "max speed" for each gear but im wondering is this the speed in which the 6500 rpm reline is met? anyone know?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,616 Posts
Really? They didn't give you a tach?

One option is the scanguage. It plugs into the obdII port and should be able to give you an rpm reading. it is just a digital display though, so not a typical gauge. I have one and love it. I use mine to monitor the water temp and battery voltage as well as fuel economy. You can view up to 4 parameters at once.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
678 Posts
i really dont care to have a tach but a light coming on to know when redline has been reached would be nice. I just got a 2012 versa S yesterday so i havent revved it up much. the owners manual has a "max speed" for each gear but im wondering is this the speed in which the 6500 rpm reline is met? anyone know?
Owners manual for the automatic mentions not going above 4500 rpm during the break in period.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
12versaS thats a given on any new car..
But the scangauge sounds like a good idea, i take it the install isnt too hard. If it has back lighting im definetly gunna consider it.
 

·
Administrator
Joined
·
5,026 Posts
I have the scangaugeII, the tach works good on the scan gauge but it doesnt read out the rpm display fast enough to keep up with the engine. So if youre revving up the engine real quick the gauge doesnt register it quickly enough to be 100% accurate.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Could I take the 2012 hatch back and install the dash in my 2012 s. also néed help I don't want to screw my warranty. I bought a new 6 speed transition form a 2012 hatchback I want to replace my 5 speed with the 6 speed. What do o think will it match up. I go tto start post pics. So far did cushion single din jvc head unit, 4 JL audio 6.5. And the Oem fog light kit.. I also want a small spoiler and lowering springs. Soon. Maybe after the snow. Since it it's ny. But any help with the tranny switch. What do ou guys think about the cold air intakes worth it or no
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
321 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
32 Posts
Dude that HUD looks pretty badass. I was also looking at another digital gauge like the "scangauge" called an "ultragauge" i beilive. If anyone has any exp. with them. Would it be practical for a tach and also how does it stack up to the "scangauge"
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
63 Posts
The American 'S' models don't get a tach. This is what we get in our Canadian 'S' models. I'm sure you could order this cluster from a Canadian dealer and install it into yours, though you'd have to put up with the metric speedo...

 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
so has ANYBODY installed a tach on a 2012+ sedan w/out a tach...??

come on now, i cant find info nowhere on this...

wiring diagram, install instructions or something...plz

thanks...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
just need to know where to wire up the "green" wire...

whats the name of the correct wire(on the versa that is)
rpm signal wire??

that way i can look up on the wiring diagram...if i can find one that is...

thanks for any help...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
257 Posts
The American 'S' models don't get a tach. This is what we get in our Canadian 'S' models. I'm sure you could order this cluster from a Canadian dealer and install it into yours, though you'd have to put up with the metric speedo...

my "S" model has that tach, tho it's a 5 speed.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
149 Posts
It's not a single tach wire, there is CAN communication from the ECM to the tach. So the signal is one of many sent over a single wire. I know that doesn't help you. You'll have to figure something out with some type of aftermarket pick-up device.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
24 Posts
Get a cheap android phone or tablet with bluetooth and the Torque app and a $12 ELM 327
and you will have a good tach as well as coolant temp and many other engine parameters.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3 Posts
2012 Nissan Versa sedan tachometer install

I own a 1.6 S Versa Sedan 5sp manual transmition (base model) with no RPM in the instrument cluster, got on this forum looking for tips and I read lots of people like myself looking for answers, and now I have the answer. YES I did it. I found an instrument cluster of a 2014 Nissan Versa sedan on Ebay and installed it myself with a philip and a straight screw driver, plug in and play, just make sure you stick to a similar cluster to the one you have, I mean don't try to go fancy with a different model like the Note or the hatchback.
So the cluster I got looked like like mine except it has a tachometer that I wanted. have fun....
 
1 - 20 of 25 Posts
Top