Nissan Versa Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

· Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all, I've got a 2009 Hatchback Versa (1.8 L, 122 HP). I am planning to move about 1000 miles this summer and am looking at my "options". I don't own much and would end up renting a 5' x 8' trailer for all my belongings, but I understand that trying to tow with a versa is probably a very bad idea. I didn't find a clear answer, so I'm just asking:

-how bad of an idea is it? (eh you'll survive vs you will absolutely die)
-is it illegal to tow a trailer with a versa?

Just looking for information, definitely not committed to trying to install a hitch and tow if it's not safe.

· Registered
8 Posts
I'm no towing expert, but I do work for Nissan, and they definitely do not recommend towing with the Versa. I think even the Rogue has a towing capacity of about 1000 pounds.

I have seen Versas with hitches, but I don't know what those folks are towing. I don;t think it's a good idea, but if you do and find out it works, let me know! :)

· Registered
139 Posts
Mine tows great. I wouldn't do it with the CVT model though, the 5 speed does a great job. The only thing I would say if your going to tow is only tow a reasonable amount of weight and don't act all crazy driving. My receiver is only 1 1/4 so I have to be realistic. I have 2 bike racks and a 2006 Thule trailer. The trailer is 3x5 and I use it for gardening, moving small furniture, pretty much anything that does't fit inside. Used the same trailer on my 5 speed Honda Fit for 5 years and never had a problem.

PS If your trying to find the Thule trailer online they are really really hard to find used, but worth every penny IMO.

· Registered
139 Posts