Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
1,616 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I'm in my last semester as a criminal justice student. for the last 4 years I have been taking classes to prepare myself to be a police officer. I literally have 2 classes I'm finishing up this summer and then I'm done and off to find a job, but here's my problem: I don't wanna freakin do it anymore. I've been feeling kinda off for the last few weeks and I finally decided tonight that I'm done with it. I feel like its gonna be a miserable, thankless, depressing job and I can't handle it. It just kinda hit me tonight during my use of force class. My instructor was talking about a local incident that happened a couple weeks ago involving a standoff and he pointed out "These are the people you have to deal with every day." I just can't shake it now. I'm about to graduate college with a degree to work in a field that no longer appeals to me on any level.

So tomorrow I'm gonna march myself into the academic affairs office and ask for a change of major. I'll still get the CRJ degree but I'm gonna move on to something else. I'm thinking about automotive engineering. It sucks cause it feels like I'm throwing away the last 4 years of my life. Working on cars is something I love, but I'e never considered it as a career because I didn't ant my job to ruin my hobby.

I just needed to get that out. If you read, thanks for listening :grouphug:

·
Premium Member
790 Posts
Just be glad man, that you're still at an age where you can change your career. If you decided to study automotive engineering, you can at least hopefully land a good part time job in the criminal justice field to pay the bills, until you get the degree that you really want. ps. went to ups again today, still waiting on the check. grrr.

·
Registered
5 Posts
I did the same thing with my school career.