Nissan Versa Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey guys i know this sounds really dumb but its a wuestion i need answered. I jsut picked up a 2012 versa hatchback manual and i know every engine is different but im sure its close enough to gauge it from there. Im new to manual so just getting use to know when to shift in this 6 speed would be great to know. pretty much I dont want to redline this but i dont want to under do it as well. i have footwork down just need to know more along the lines of the higher gears but all would be helpful as well. thanks people!

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
oh ok, so even shifting earlier then when you "hear you car want the next gear" doesn't matter? people who taught me told me you have to listen to your engine and shift accordingly but maybe thats for someone more experienced than i am, or they're full of crap haha.
pretty much at the end of it i think what i wanted to ask was how do you shift to get best gas mileage? better question, no? if the answer is to keep it under 3000 rpms imma laugh

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
ok cool thanks guys, so that applies even with the higher gears, so im keeping all of my gears under 3000 rpm EXCEPT on the 6th gear? because thats the only one that will continue up in speed.

·
Registered
321 Posts
keeping it under 3000 rpms is included for A/T as well? when I'm feeling stingy I'll have it so it doesn't go above 2000 rpm for max gas, but how much will it hurt my mpg's if I go to 3000 rpms constantly? does anyone know?

·
Premium Member
4,524 Posts
I'm not sure. I usually don't keep up with MPGs. I do it to keep the engine healthy. As long as I fill up every 10 days or once a week I'm good with that.

·
Registered
1,246 Posts